Type to search

News Sports

Women’s World Cup Finally Kicks Off


The 2019 FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association) Women’s World Cup is the eighth edition of this competition between 24 national teams. Held between June 7th and July 7th, it is being played in nine cities across France. Those cities include Valenciennes, Le Havre, Reims, Paris, Rennes, Lyon, Grenoble, Montpellier, and Nice. Qualification matches were played between April 3rd 2017 and December 1st, 2018. Chile, Jamaica, Scotland and South Africa made their Women’s World Cup debuts for the first time! Whereas Brazil, Germany, Japan, Nigeria, Norway, Sweden, and the United States qualified for their 8th World Cup, a continuous streak for every World Cup so far.

Canada, ranked 5th in the world, is part of Group E, with the Netherlands, New Zealand, and Cameroon. It has defeated Cameroon 1-0 on June 10th, and its next match will pit them against the New Zealand team on June 15th, and the Netherlands on June 20th. Coached by Kenneth Heiner-Møller, of Denmark, and led by team captain Christine Sinclair, Canada’s all-time leading scorer and second in all-time international goals scored by males or females with 181, Canada is expected to move to the latter stage of the competition.

Check out our other articles on UFC 238, St. Louis Blues winning the Stanley Cup, and the Toronto Raptors winning their first NBA championship.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe To Newsletter
Be the first to get latest updates and exclusive content straight to your email inbox.
Stay Updated
Give it a try, you can unsubscribe anytime.